A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

£9.9
FREE Shipping

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

A Spoonful of Murder: The first book in a hilarious and totally unputdownable cosy murder mystery series for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

The book might benefit from sticking with the main plot and the few sub-plots that are directly related to it rather than following the larger number of tangents included. The plot is cozy and tricky, with just the right blend of “Miss Marple”, interesting and quirky characters, secrets, unexpected nuance, colorful cardigans, and of course, heaps of tea and warm companionship.

While Hall tries to make the reader doubt the initial, obvious hints of who the killer is, it comes as no surprise at the end of the story when the killer is finally revealed. Three retired school teachers Thelma, Liz and Pat meet up every Thursday at the garden centre in Thirsk a market town in North Yorkshire. Childless, and married to a college professor, Teddy, Thelma fills her days with charity work - hiding a heartbreaking secret and a inner core as vulnerable and uncertain as her more emotive friends. In summary, Hall has done a credible job of presenting a mystery that has several interesting components. Retired Yorkshire school teachers Liz, Pat and Thelma meet up every Thursday morning for "coffee o'clock" at at the Thirsk Garden Centre Café.

They have cups of tea at a garden centre, and visit friends with dementia, a funeral and a strip club.

A Spoonful of Murder is a cosy mystery that involves retired teachers who decide to solve the mysterious death of one of their colleagues who died from "muddling with her medication" - or not. A Spoonful of Murder" introduced us to the unlikely crime-solving trio of retired teachers Liz, Thelma and Pat. Lots twists and turns, this is a great debut' NetGalley review, 'This book is a joy, I really, really loved it.When Topsy dies in her sleep after supposedly mistakenly taking too much of her heart medication, the three learn troubling facts about a number of people connected to Topsy that make them suspicious that Topsy may have been murdered and, even if not, was being victimized and by possibly more than one person. Gossiping about family and their old days teaching it's a low stress hour out of their "busy" schedules. However, I think it is unlikely that "A Spoonful of Murder" will go on to enjoy anything like the success that Richard Osman's creation has achieved. Or maybe not … It’s not entirely clear, especially given that the alleged victim, Topsy, a former colleague of the three women was in her dotage and suffering declining health.

A Spoonful of Murder, as well as being a delightfully entertaining read, deals with dementia, loan sharks, and cleverly outlines many of the ways the vulnerable elderly can be defrauded of their life savings. While the friends appreciate KellyAnne’s taking care of her mother and sympathize with their situation, they also sense that there is something that is not quite right when Topsy shares some disturbing facts . There are pleasant moments of well-observed human behaviour and some warm, gentle humour is also in evidence. I enjoyed following Pat, Liz and Thelma as they meet for coffee to reminisce about their pasts as teachers and then as that escalates to trying to solve the potential murder of their friend Topsy.

I was house sitting for a friend recently and, investigating the area, I discovered Thirsk Garden Centre. It's simple prose and gentle telling make this is a great spring garden book - put down your secateurs, grab a brew and indulge in a chapter or two on the patio. I’ve actually been enjoying all the ‘cosy crime’ amateur sleuth types of books which have been released of late, particularly those where the protagonists are possible the least likely Detectives you might hope to meet. The style was slow and meandering, especially at first, and I often put the book down, wondering when it would ignite, but each time, I was drawn back to pick it up to read ‘just another couple of chapters’ until I was hooked.

Fans of Agatha Christie, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page.Liz, Thelma and Pat meet up every Thursday for their ‘coffee o’clock’ sessions at the Thirsk Garden Centre café. Retired teachers and friends Thelma, Liz and Pam are saddened by Topsy’s death, and would never have thought anything was off about the situation, but a word here and there sets each off into asking questions and poking at situations to find out whether Topsy really did accidentally overdose or was murdered.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop