£4.495
FREE Shipping

A Million to One

A Million to One

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

There’s so many statistics involved with the Titanic, big numbers create big numbers after all, and if you’re like me, as you’re making your way through the story, facing an ever-dwindling page count, the direness of the situation starts to set in. And so, unless you read books without looking at the cover first, you’ve likely noticed the wonderful diversity on the cover of A Million to One. Perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper and Girl in the Blue Coat, this high-seas heist from the author of The Henna Wars is an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail—the ship sinks.

I really like that it’s sapphic though, which is probably why, despite everything, I still think relatively high of this book.

Four daring young women must band together to pull off the heist of the century onboard the infamous Titanic. Heart-pounding tension and pure adrenaline-fueled fun, along with an urgent countdown in the chapter headings, keep this heist novel on its toes, as accidental setbacks and unexpected faces in the second half force the plan to change, sometimes literally, in midair. The scary newbie is Troy “The Bread Man” Forester, a psychopathic torturer and serial killer in the tradition of Hannibal Lecter. The big steal that is intended was always going to end in disaster, as the countdown reinforces at the beginning of every chapter. Find out the answers to these questions and more in this fascinating inside look at a dedicated councillor's career.

But would a rich white woman really be traveling with Black and Asian companions – as equals rather than servants – in 1912? We’re given very simple explanations as to why these people were chosen for the task, we’re told “hey this person is VERY good at this” and we just have to trust what the story tells us because we have no proof of it since we don’t really see them in action. The majority of the novel ended up being a bunch of meaningless dithering about on the Titanic, which was intended to…build up the suspense, I supposed, but it felt like far too many pages of The Gang running around the ship, chatting with a boy or two, trying to throw the guards off their trail, and making no progress whatsoever.

There’s Josefa, the planner and pickpocket who masterminded the heist; Emilie, an artist whose forgeries get them onto the ship; charismatic Violet, who can talk her way out the tightest of corners; and Hinnah, a brave young acrobat willing to break and enter.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop